Board index Technical Discussion General Technical Discussion Specifications

Specifications

Technical discussion forums for the Oculus Rift Community

Post Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:11 pm

Well, the specifications of Oculus Rift are truly outstanding and seem to be perfect for gamers. Also, it some fields of the specifications, it seems to beat other VR products. Anyway, for those of you who are interested, here are the specs:

Technical specs of the Dev Kit (subject to change)
Head tracking: 6 degrees of freedom (DOF) ultra low latency
Field of view: 110 degrees diagonal / 90 degrees horizontal
Resolution: 1280x800 (640x800 per eye)
Inputs: DVI/HDMI and USB
Platforms: PC and mobile
Weight: ~0.22 kilograms

Truly amazing specifications. What are your thoughts on them?

Post Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:15 pm

Thanks for laying the specs out! Im fairly new to the VR world and trying to learn more about how it works and reading and understanding specs and whatnot. The field of view is pretty amazing in itself! Do you have any suggestions for a newbie? :mrgreen:

Post Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:19 pm

Well, any suggestions depends on what you would like to know about VR and how you plan to get involved with VR. For example, for gaming, you'll need to know specs such as the resolution as it's important to gaming, especially because it's what you'll be seeing when you have the VR headset on. Furthermore, you'll also need to know the field of view as it's a crucial feature to VR as the wider the field of view, usually, the better.

Post Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:22 pm

Of course it's perfect for gamers - what other point would there be? I can't see how it would be useful for anything else. I'm sure there are applications somewhere but I'm thinking for the average person.

Post Sun Aug 12, 2012 1:47 am

The specs are definitely great and I'm looking forward to the day when the Oculus can be played with my Nintendo!

Post Sun Sep 02, 2012 4:23 am

I don't think it will have 6dof (from reddit) :geek: :